Happy New Year: or should I say Hau’oli Makahiki Hou?!

Happy New Year everyone!
Hope you all had an amazing Christmas, I feel really bad for not posting anything Chrsitmassy on here during the festive season but I’m going to make it my New Year’s resolution to post more! So here’s to a sweet 2013!
 
And what better way to kick the year off? Yes, my favourite show is back tonight!!! 
FINALLY! Hawaii 5-0 is back for Season 3!!!!
Cue the hula dancing and/or the rowing!! Da da da da daaaa da da da da da daaaaaaa……

and Yes you MUST row or hula during the titles, it’s the law! Well it is in the Young household. The cat thinks I’m mad!!!

Sunday nights just haven’t been the same without it! We finally get to meet Steve’s mam tonight and find out just where she’s been all these years and we also get to see what happens to Kono & Malia! Eek its all very exciting! Well, actually I already know as I watched the very first episode when it aired in the US back in September. Live. Yes live. At 3am UK time. Yes sad. I know!

But I won’t spoil it for UK peeps, but I will say that Commander McGarrett looks particularly lovely in this episode, but come on that’s not really a spoiler is it?!

Anyway to celebrate the best show on TV’s return I thought I’d do some Hawaiian themed biscuits again! I’ve had a bit of practice since the last batch and if I say so myself I’m getting better, well Chin’s arm isn’t hanging off and he’s wearing pants!

I kept McGarrett & Chin pretty much the same as last time:

using Callye’s (The Sweet Adventures of Sugarbelle) fab tutorial again for Chin’s shirt:

I omitted Danny’s tie as he isn’t wearing it much these days. I’ve also noticed that his leg baked a little bit skew-whiff so it looks like he’s skipping!!:

And I gave Kono some waves this time to go with her surfboard:

I also really wanted to try some generic Hawaiian themed designs. Hula girls were top of my list! The grass skirts have come out great! Add an Aloha greeting and you could almost be on Waikiki beach, in your flip flops!! Almost!
And at the list minute I thought this whole set wouldn’t be complete without a tiki mask, a smiley sun and of course a palm tree!!

I found inspiration from Glory at Glorious Treats for the Aloha sign and the flip flops, you can get the tutorial for these here and here. I hand cut the waves as I didn’t have a cutter and I used a baby foot cutter for the flip flops and chopped the tootsies off!

So there you go, something a little tropical to warm us up in chilly old blighty even if you don’t watch the show! But if you want to see what all the fuss is about, check out Sky One at 9pm…..you don’t really have to hula dance through the titles, that’s entirely up to you!

12 thoughts on “Happy New Year: or should I say Hau’oli Makahiki Hou?!

Leave a Reply

