A Hello Kissy Engagement!! : A match made in, er, Heaven?

How cool does Kitty look?!

OK, I have to admit, this isn’t really an engagement present for my Cousin and his fiancee but it COULD have been!

Steven & Jessica got engaged at the end of last year in sunny Florida and it wasn’t until about three weeks later, that I thought to myself wouldn’t have been great if I’d made them some Hello Kitty biscuits dressed as the members of the band Kiss as a gift. ‘That’s a random thought’ I hear you say! And although I am the queen of random thoughts there is logic to it!


The idea came after seeing these:

Fab Vinylmation figures hand painted by Steven’s Dad, Uncle Ian!  You see they (My Auntie, Uncle, Steven & Jess) were not only holidaying in Florida oh no! Part of their break was actually spent cruising to Mexico with THE band! Yes! Kiss! Awesome or what?! And as Jess loves Hello Kitty, their engagement present would have (literally) rocked! Three weeks too late! Yep!

So anyway, I put the thought aside and started on all things Christmassy! And a week or so ago I read this post from Georganne at LilaLoa. A Black & White challenge! At first I thought of my home football (soccer) club, Newcastle United who play in black and white, but then the Kiss/Kitty idea popped back into my head! So I thought I’d give it a go!!!

Now I know that some of the Kiss guys (Steven and Ian, will shake their heads at my ignorance here as I’m not sure who is who!) have some colour i.e. a big red tongue, and green eyes but I’ve stuck to the monochromatic theme!

So the other Crazy Crazy night (my one and only Kiss pun, as its the only song I know!) using the top of a Kitekat treat pack as a template I made the biscuits. I flooded them with white icing and left room for the bow. On reflection I would have piped the bow after the white had dried so it stood out a bit more. Here they are close up:

So apart from the last one looking like a raccoon and not having full whiskers (I realised too late!) what do you think?

If anyone else who has taken part in this challenge is reading this, how amazing is it not to have to stand for an hour mixing colours?! It was a total dream! Thanks Georganne for the challenge, I think a Black and White palette maybe on the cards (or biscuits!) more often from now on!!!

Update 27-01-2013: This post was featured at Sweet 2 Eat Baking’s Sugar & Slice Link Party! My very first feature! Woo hoo!

Sweet 2 Eat Baking

13 thoughts on “A Hello Kissy Engagement!! : A match made in, er, Heaven?

  1. bonbon says:

    Those are the cutest cookies ever! What a creative idea and they look so legit. Not messy at all. Way to go! Just found your blog and have enjoyed getting to know you better. Hope you don't mind if I follow along!

    new follower 🙂
    bonnie
    thelifeofbon.com

Leave a Reply

