Cookie British Weather!!

So I started to think of posts for Easter the other day! Bunnies, bonnets, eggs and all other things spring like. Then I looked out of the window!Β Drizzle & clouds! Well that’s hardly Spring-like! Although I’m really not at all surprised by this, I couldn’t bring myself to start all the lovely Easter-y stuff just yet. So what else could I do? Drizzle and clouds of course!!

I love the kooky Great British Weather! We Brits talk about it…..all the time! Its a very British thing to do to discuss the weather! Its basically because it always keeps you guessing, you never know what to wear for the best as you really can have all four seasons in one day. Although to be honest, it mostly rains!! But we never let a little bit of water spoil anything!!! We truly are the best in the world at marching on with whatever we’ve got planned despite the rain!! Wimbledon (most years before they built the roof) and the Queen’s Jubilee last year spring instantly to mind! We just carry a brolly and get on with it!!

I made these all with twenty second icing, and kept the colours muted on purpose as its a bit miserable outside! The clouds on the weather map were royal icing transfers that I just free handed. I really think I should have drawn them a little smaller but never mind!

I totally wasn’t hoping for my icing to develop air bubbles, but it turned out pretty cool on the clouds!!

I think it works that they’re rain drops, but hey, that’s just me!!

Its typical though, since I made these, photographed them and posted them most of the UK has been covered in snow! (Although not my area, thankfully!!) Which just proves my point I guess!

Well, the bunnies are definitely next, I haven’t done any snowy biscuits purely because if I did, there would probably be glorious sunshine outside by the time I got them posted! Although I wouldn’t bet on it!!

So what’s the weather like where you are? Is it all bunnies or is it drizzle?

Update 31-March-2013: This post was featured over at Sweet 2 Eat Baking’s Sugar & Slice Link Party!! Woo Hoo!!

I was Featured on Sweet 2 Eat Baking
28 thoughts on “Cookie British Weather!!

  1. Rebecca says:

    Oh I loove these ❀ Saw them on Sugar & Slice Link Party and I think that they are super cute πŸ™‚ Hopefully you can soon make some suns πŸ˜€

  2. Angela says:

    We had fluffy white stuff in New Jersey today – not bunnies, but snow! Then that turned to rain, so these adorable cookies are perfect for this not-so-spring like day! Clicked through from the Party In Polka Dots link party. : )

  3. Anne K. says:

    These are super cute! I do make decorated cookies too πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by and for the sweet comments. Following on bloglovin πŸ™‚

    Anne {The Pink Momma}

  4. shel young says:

    thanks so much for stopping by and for your kind comments πŸ™‚ we've narrowly avoided the majority of the snow here, fingers crossed it stays that way!! πŸ™‚

  5. Kendra Pahukoa says:

    wow! those are awesome- you are so talented!
    thanks so much for stopping by and following. i am so sorry i am just now getting to emails -i have been behind all week but luckily it's the week-end and i can hit the “start fresh” button! πŸ™‚
    i am happily following back, you have such a fun blog. if ya haven't linked up with the aloha friday blog hop come on over and link up so other people can see your fab cookies.
    πŸ™‚
    http://www.kendrakaypahukoa.blogspot.com

  6. shel young says:

    Hi, thanks for stopping by and for your very kind comments :)I've just linked up again so looking forward to finding more fab blogs πŸ™‚ hope you have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

