Cult Classic Cookies: The Prisoner!

There’s definitely a theme occurring here on Sweet Petite! As you probably already know I’m a bit of a telly addict! And I may have mentioned my love of the new Hawaii 5-0 once or twice!

My new favourite, is ironically one of the oldest shows I’d ever watched! How I’ve gone all my life without watching The Prisoner is beyond me. It’s a brilliant British Classic! Surreal, very 60s and a total mind bender but brilliant all the same!

A big thank you to my colleague Lisa who introduced me to it by lending me her DVDs!

If you’re unfamiliar with The Prisoner it is centred around a spy (played by the amazing Patrick McGoohan) who resigns his job for an unknown reason but before he leaves for sunnier climes he is gassed and brought to ‘The Village’ a very sinister place. No one is allowed to leave, everyone is watched and all are assigned a number. Our main character is number 6. And the powers that be want to know why he resigned his job and ‘by hook or by crook’ they try to crack 6 and find that out.

You can get a feel for it here:

I totally love this show and with only 17 episodes ever made, I recommend anyone give it a try.

Anyway, enough of me rambling! Onto the biscuits!!…..

ย 

OK, if you’re not familiar with the show you’re probably stuck! The Penny Farthing is a symbol seen around the village, there has been a lot of debate as to what it actually stood for (as well as a lot of debate on what the whole show meant but we’ll not get into that!). For this I filled a circular biscuit with white and realised I had created a rover biscuit without even trying!

See?!

Rover is village security, and keeps everyone in line ๐Ÿ˜‰

I then added the penny farthing with my kopykake projector. Although even with the help of the projector I still seem to be struggling with circles (the little wheel?! oh dear!!)

The villagers were always seen with a gorgeously coloured umbrellas so to add a splash of colour I made some. I drew on the umbrella with a food marker to break it up into sections and waited 20-30 minutes between each colour, just like I did for my British Weather biscuits.

Finally, number 6’s iconic jacket. Black with white piping. This one is my favourite (although not my favourite photo!! Apologies for the blurry pic!!)

So there you go! My little tribute to a really cool show! What do you think?

Be seeing you!

p.s. I think I could get used to signing off all my posts with ‘Be Seeing You’ but I won’t. I’m not that sad. honest!

p.p.s. Yes, I actually am that sad, but I won’t!!!

2 thoughts on “Cult Classic Cookies: The Prisoner!

  1. Momma Melly says:

    Those are too stinkin' cute! I adore the umbrella! You did an awesome job! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I'm your newest follower. ๐Ÿ™‚ Please feel free to check out my blog and follow back. I look forward to reading more of your posts.

Leave a Reply

